Board of Directors

Shiban K Koul - Chairman

An international authority on microwave technology, Shiban K Koul is Professor at the Centre for Applied Research in Electronics at the Indian Institute of Technology Delhi. Prof Koul is a BE (Electrical) from REC, Srinagar, and holds an MTech and PhD in microwave engineering from IIT Delhi; he has held visiting assignments with several universities across the world and has authored/co-authored several research papers and books.
In a recent rare
, Prof Koul is elevated to Fellow of IEEE Class of 2010, for his contributions to analysis and design of microwave and millimeter wave components and circuits.

Dr. Shiban Kou was selected as Distinguished Mcrowave Lecturer (DML) by the IEEE Microwave Theory and Society, USA (MTT-S AdCom) for the term 2012.2014.

B Malla Reddy - Managing Director

In charge of overall business and strategy at Astra Microwave, B Malla Reddy is among Astra Microwave's core founders. Mr Malla Reddy worked for over two decades the Systems Division, Indian Space Research Organisation, Bangalore, and with Defence Research and Development Laboratory, Hyderabad, before taking charge of software development and R&D at OMC Computers Ltd, Hyderabad. Mr Malla Reddy holds a Master's in Engineering (Automation) from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

PA Chitrakar - Director and COO

Head of operations at Astra Microwave, PA Chitrakar had been with the Defence Electronics Laboratory, Hyderabad, as a scientist for over 20 years before co-founding Astra Microwave. An MSc (Physics) from Mysore University and an MTech (Advanced Electronics) from JNTU, Hyderabad, Mr Chitrakar is an expert in, among others, the design of microwave components.

C Prameelamma - Director (Technical)

Among Astra Microwave founders, C Prameelamma has had a distinguished career with the Electronics Research and Development Establishment, Bangalore, and the Defence Electronics Research Laboratory, Hyderabad. An expert in the manufacture and testing of microwave components and computer-aided design, Ms Prameelamma is a Master's in Engineering (Instrumentation & Control Systems) From SV University, Tirupati.

S.Gurunatha Reddy - CFO & Whole Time Director

Worked in private sector industry and gained over 27 years of experience in accounting, finance, taxation, secretarial etc., 

Maram Venkateshwar Reddy - Director – (Mktg. & Operations)

A Graduate in Engineering (Electronics) and a Post Graduate in Business Administration, Mr. M. V. Reddy has 23 years of experience in handling Marketing and Business operations in the domain of Defense, Space and Telecom segment in India and Overseas Market.

 As most of his experience has been working for the Indian Private industry meeting the needs of the Strategic Electronics sector in India and abroad, he has a good understanding of the requirements and knows the challenges and opportunities for the private companies in this business segment.

Ramachandru Tejavath IAS (Retd.) - Independent Director

Ramachandru Tejavath, born on 9 September 1953, is from Collector Thanda of Warangal District. 

He is an Electronics and Communication Engineer from Osmania University (1976) and Management Graduate  from  IIM  Ahmedabad (1978). He  has  also  done  Diploma in  Public  Administration  from Syracuse University, NY, USA (2007).

He worked for IBM-CMC (1978-83) before joining IPS (1983) and then IAS in 1984.  He has vast corporate and administrative experience, both at Odisha State and Government of India, spanning over a period of 35 years. Administrative experience during various assignments, inter alia, includes Collector and District Magistrate, Divisional Commissioner for ten Districts, General Manager DIC, Additional Director of Industries, Director of Industries, Director of Technical Education and Training, Director of Textiles and Handlooms, Additional Secretary Industries, Principal Secretary Industries, Secretary to the Chief Minister Odisha, Secretary to Governor Odisha., Director International Cooperation in Defence, Joint Secretary  for Ordnance Factories and Missiles Production in Ministry of Defence. 

His main forte is in promotion and development  of Industries, mainly in electronics and Defence products, steel, ferro  alloys, aluminum, power, cement etc. He was instrumental in private sector participation in Defence production. He encouraged SMEs and large Indian Industries to take up Defence production by issuing industrial licenses to them. 

During service coordinated with UN Agencies, World Bank, development Banks like IDBI, SIDBI & NABARD and Industries Federations like CII, FICCI & ASSOCHAM. He led several international delegations in Defence and security matters, handled about 50 very high level Defence delegations and finalized about dozen Memoranda of Understanding and Protocols. 

He was on the Boards of State PSUs, a Defence  PSU, IIT Bhubaneswar and Xavier Institute of Management Bhubaneswar as Director, Chairman and CMD. 

He is a Member of All India Management Association (AIMA),  President of Cuttack Management Association (1999-2005, 2011-2013). He won Young Managers Award in 1982 at national level, instituted by AIMA. 

Mr. Vadlamani Venkata Rama Sastry - Independent Director

Mr. V. Venkata Rama Sastry (Mr.V.V.R.Sastry) is a double graduate in Science and Electronics & Communication Engineering with 45 years’ experience in Development & Engineering, Manufacturing, Quality Management, Project Management, Technology Management and Marketing. Has rich experience in various fields of professional electronics like Military- Communication, Electronic- Warfare, Telecommunications, Homeland Security and Strategic Components.

 Mr. V.V.R.Sastry, was the Chairman cum Managing Director of Bharat Electronics Ltd., responsible for Company’s healthy growth in 2007-09.

 He won Confederation of British Industry (CBI) Scholarship to work at Mullard Application Laboratories, UK, in 1976 and ELCINA-DUN & BRADSTREET ‘Electronics Man of the Year’ Award for 2007-08.

Mr. Buddharaju Lakshmi Narayana Raju - Independent Director

Mr. Buddharaju Lakshmi Narayana Raju is a Post Graduate in Master of Technology, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur and Bachelor of Engineering from Andhra University, Visakhapatnam with over 30 years’ experience in Digital Library Technologies, Information Management, Information Technology and Web Technology adoption areas specifically focusing on return on investment.

Dr.Avinash Chander - Independent Director

Dr Avinash Chander is the retired Secretary, Defence R&D and Director General, DRDO. An eminent scientist in the field of missiles, he has been a pioneer in Strapdown Inertial navigation & Guidance. In addition, he has contributed in the development of several critical technologies in the field of radars, simulation, propulsion, control and System engineering.